Female Divers- Fin recommandations ???

What do you have and why? Looking to buy some equipment but got some question? Post here.

Female Divers- Fin recommandations ???

Postby CristinnaP » Tue Mar 18, 2014 5:21 am

Hey all,

I need new fins. I hated my ScubaPro Jet fins (purchased in 2005) because my legs cramped all the time and they are so wide, they almost don't fit in my suitcase. I have been using Force Fins for the past two years but they are ready for retirement.
Plus I can't take any more comments about my "little blue ducky fins" from my dive buddies. :lol: I just saw something on Dipndive.com , some Cressi Gara 3000 fins. They look ok in the photo, but... it takes more then a simple pic to convince me now.

Any advice for me?

Thx
CristinnaP

Re: Female Divers- Fin recommandations ???

Postby Phantom Menace » Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:26 am

The Cressi Gara 3000 (and the softer 3000 LD) are more suited to spearfishing and free-diving given their length. This would be particularly true if you were planning on doing wreck and cave dives where space may be limited and you want to avoid stirring up silt etc.

A friend has the Cressis and loves them - but he is a spearo / free-diver.
Phantom Menace

Postby Mykl » Tue Mar 18, 2014 2:50 pm

I purchased split fins because I read that they did not make your legs cramp up so much which was a problem I experienced on just about every dive on my OWD course. I still get the occasional cramp with them but nowhere near as much as with conventional fins.

The main problem with split fins is they are not as effective when in a decent current. I have a buddy who uses ScubaPro Jet Fins and he effortlessly swims away from me in any sort of a current.

I use Apollo Bio-fins with spring straps.
Life is a sexually transmitted, terminal disease
Mykl

Postby ChuckyBob » Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:16 pm

Generally speaking...